A Feast of Holiday Reading

Don’t forget to pack a book or your ereader/tablet. Today the roads and airports are crazy. The schools  and colleges have finished. Yay!

Loose yourself within the pages to discover new places and people. It’s such a treat to have the time to read a whole novel. Don’t you think? I’m engrossed in some interesting historical fiction about my area. It goes way back to the Roundheads and Queen Mary and King James. There are feasts and battles galore! Pigeon pie was a meal fit for royalty, then. Today, I had salmon in pastry with prawns in a white wine sauce. That was delicious. Somehow I didn’t fancy pigeon pie!

Lately, I have been for a lovely picnic at a farm park and walked in a Hall gardens only last night. So, I’m grateful for the good weather and the freedom to roam the UK. Those ancient battles enabled my right of passage locally. What a debt I owe my ancestors. How blessed I am. If you like, call it essential research that I’m carrying out. Or it may be that I’m just taking time out to smell the roses.

Hoping you get the chance to do likewise, asap.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

